Rams Announce Team Awards


With the season officially over for the Rams, the team announced their awards from 2010. None of them were big surprises, but it’s still good to recognize the guys who led the team to a six-win improvement from 2009. Here is the list:

Steven Jackson wins Daniel F. Reeves Memorial award, which is given to the team’s Most Valuable Player.

Sam Bradford wins The Carroll Rosenbloom Memorial Award, given to the team’s Rookie of the Year.

Oshiomogho Atogwe wins the Carl Ekern Spirit of the Game Award in recognition of his leadership on and off the field.

Bradley Fletcher was named the Rams’ recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award for his comeback from knee surgery.

Some quick thoughts: Jackson was certainly the team MVP in my estimation, and although you could make a case for Sam Bradford, Jackson was the right call. Considering Bradford will likely be the runaway winner of the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year, he was the obvious choice for the team award. Atogwe has long been one of the predominant leaders in the locker-room, and Fletcher deserves recognition for having a great season after suffering that nasty injury a year before. I have no issues with any of these choices, but if you have a different opinion, hit the comment section.