Rams Set NFL National HSPD 7-on-7 Roster


The Rams announced their final roster for this summer’s NFL High School Player Development 7-on-7 National Tournament on Wednesday, as they picked 12 of the top area players to travel to Indianapolis next month for the tournament. The organization also picked six linemen to travel with the group to participate in the Linemen Leadership Program at the tournament as well. Play in the tourney will open on July 12 and will run through July 15. The Rams’ 2011 team was ousted in the first round of play in the 24-team, single-elimination format.

The 2012 roster looks like this: Devin Alexander (Ritenour, jr.), Bert Birdsall (CBC, sr.), Keith Brent (Hazelwood Central, sr.), Tyler Brewer (Fox, sr.), Greg Gibson (O’Fallon, sr.), Brendan Moore (Mehlville, jr.), Darius Mosely (O’Fallon, sr.), Zach Muniz (CBC, jr.), Aarion Penton (CBC, sr.), Devin Roberts (Warrenton, sr.), Brett Siebenshuh (Francis Howell, jr.) and Cole Sigmund (MICDS, so.).

The six linemen who will also travel to Indy are Brandon Barton (Festus, sr.), Jonathan Bonner (Parkway Central, jr.), Chris Simmons (Mehlville, jr.), Chris Watkins (Wesclin, sr.), Cody Watz (Fox, sr.) and Donnie White (De Smet, sr.).

This group was chosen after a series of camps that started with 600 players and eventually got whittled down to 34 before picking the final 12 players from that group. There is plenty of talent here, so let’s hope this group goes over there and shows the rest of the league what the Rams and the St. Louis area has to offer. The team will be coached by Kyle Eversgerd, the Rams Fan Development Coordinator (and a former slow-pitch softball teammate of mine), and Matt Biermann.