How NFL referees fooled Rams on TNF with seldom-known loophole in the rulebook

NFL officials through the book at the Rams, and were able to find a seldom-seen loophole.
Los Angeles Rams v Seattle Seahawks
Los Angeles Rams v Seattle Seahawks | Tom Hauck/GettyImages

The 11-4 Los Angeles Rams had to overcome the birth of head coach Sean McVay's infant son, unexpected travel snafus, forecasted gnarly weather, a hostile crowd, and a short week. The last thing this team needed was wide receiver Puka Nacua to give NFL officials in this game reason enough to find ways to impact the outcome of the game.

Well, they did.

The failed two-point conversion attempt that was reversed despite the play being blown dead was the correct call, presuming the factors determined by the broadcast booth were true. But the play was so bizarre that even head coach Sean McVay was confused and incensed over the ruling. And he sought clarification from the NFL in his post-game presser.

It was a crazy play in which a backwards pass bounced off the helmet of Jared Verse, ended up in the end zone, and was picked up nonchalantly by a Seahawks player. Despite being blown dead, the fact that a Seahawks player picked up the football with one foot in the endzone allowed the booth official to reverse the call on the field.

Wait a minute. A fumble can be advanced? That's just wrong.

The NFL rules made it impossible for an offense to advance a fumble for a score. But the rules were never modified to include a backward lateral pass, and thus the loophole that confused everyone, even head coach Sean McVay, was enforceable in Week 16.

Articl e 6: Fumble after two-minute warning or during a Try

If a fumble occurs by either team after the two-minute warning or during a Try

  1. The ball may be advanced by any opponent
  2. The player who fumbled is the only player of his team who is permitted to recover and advance the football
  3. If the recovery or catch is by a teammate of the player who fumbled, the ball is dead and the spot of the next snap is the spot of the fumble, or at the spot of the recovery if the spot of the recovery is behind the spot of the fumble.

Section 7: Backward pass and fumble Article 1: Backward Pass

  • A runner may throw a backward pass at any time. Players of either team may advance after catching a backward pass or recovering a backward pass after it touches the ground. Any snap from the center is a backward pass.

So, why was this play so very confusing to everyone? Two reasons. The play was blown dead, and the ruling on the football field was an incomplete forward pass. Complicating the matter further was the fact that the football did not make it to the Seahawks receiver, but ricocheted off Jared Verse's helmet to end up four yards forward on the end zone.

The backward pass nature of the play was not obvious in real time. And to some, it's still very much in dispute. The thing is, the loophole that nobody seemed to realize in real time was enforced during the game and led to LA's loss.

The entire play was controversial and was amplified by the fact that it had such a strong bearing on the game's outcome. NFL players should never call out NFL officials before a game. They hold the outcome of the contest in their hands. Perhaps now, Puka Nacua has learned that lesson.

As always, thanks for reading.

Loading recommendations... Please wait while we load personalized content recommendations